Hong Kong Smoke-free Leading Company Awards 2019 Concerted efforts of business community to create a smoke-free Hong KongBack

2020.08.21

Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health (“COSH”) organized the Hong Kong Smoke-free Leading Company Awards (“the Awards”) together with Occupational Safety and Health Council and Radio 1 of Radio Television Hong Kong (“RTHK”) in 2019. The Awards in 2019 scaled a new height with more than 530 companies participating, a 10% increase as compared with the Awards in 2016. Over 130,000 employees from a wide variety of industries were benefited, including banking, property management, retail, logistics, transportation, construction and government departments, etc. A special programme jointly produced by COSH and RTHK was broadcast today (21 August) during the programme “Healthpedia” on RTHK TV31 and Radio 1 to commend the outstanding companies and highlight their remarkable smoke-free policies. It was also the first live streaming Awards ceremony on Facebook reaching out more audience.  

 

By uniting the enterprises and organizations, the Awards aimed to encourage businesses to support smoking cessation and spread smoke-free messages among employees, customers and people from all walks of life, in order to strive for a smoke-free Hong Kong. Over 80 major commerce chambers and associations fully supported the Awards by motivating their members to join. Besides, various smoking cessation service providers assisted businesses in setting up smoke-free workplaces and diverse policies.

 

Participating guests of the programme included Honourable Patron, Prof Sophia CHAN (Secretary for Food and Health), Co-organizer, Bonnie YAU (Executive Director, Occupational Safety and Health Council), Gold Awardees and Winners of the “Outstanding Smoke-free Community Involvement Award”, Connie LAM (Director of Human Resources, CLP Power Hong Kong Limited) and Jenny PONG (Director of Human Resources, Gammon Construction Limited) and Antonio KWONG (COSH Chairman). Singer, Candy LO shared her successful experience in overcoming the tobacco cravings and encouraged smokers to strengthen their quit will.

 

“Smoke-free policies at workplaces help motivate smoking employees to go smoke-free, improve work efficiency and minimize healthcare expenses which would achieve win-win-win situations for employees, company and the society.” said Antonio KWONG, COSH Chairman. COSH has organized tailored publicity programmes targeting industries with high smoking prevalence over the years. Some awardees had participated in these industry specific programmes before and now became the role models of their sectors. This year, COSH is going to launch a programme for housing management industry with an aim to enhance their role in advocating smoke-free culture.

 

Honourable Patron of the Awards, Prof Sophia CHAN, Secretary for Food and Health mentioned that company and organization support for smoke-free policies at workplace is essential in achieving a smoke-free Hong Kong. It is encouraging that there is an increasing number of companies concern the health of workforce and raise staff awareness on a smoke-free lifestyle. Promotion of smoking cessation services is one of the Government’s multi-pronged tobacco control policies. We will work closely with various partners to provide variety of smoking cessation services and explore ways to motivate smokers staying away from tobacco.

 

The Awards was first introduced in 2011 and was the fourth time in 2019 to mobilize businesses to promote smoke-free culture on a continuous basis. A judging meeting was held by an independent Judging Panel, including representatives from COSH, the Government, industry and academia in December 2019. The panel concluded that two companies received the Triple Gold Awards for their continuous commitment; 14 companies received the Gold Awards, and two of them also received the Outstanding Smoke-free Community Involvement Awards for their outstanding performance in promoting smoke-free culture in the community; 16 companies received the Silver Awards; and over 490 companies awarded the Certificates of Merit for recognition of their support.

 

A wide variety of smoke-free measures have been adopted e.g. smoking cessation reward schemes, creative smoke-free graphic designs and interactive education events. Besides, the businesses empowered non-smoking employees and their family to encourage smokers to quit and create a supportive atmosphere for smoking cessation. To conclude, management support, substantial resources allocation and collaboration with smoking cessation service providers were proven to be critical in effective implementation of smoke-free policies.

 

For more information about Hong Kong Smoke-free Leading Company Awards, please visit www.smokefreeleadingcompany.hk

主要內容

香港无烟领先企业大奖2019 企业同心共建无烟香港返回

2020.08.21

香港吸烟与健康委员会(委员会)与职业安全健康局及香港电台第一台合办「香港无烟领先企业大奖2019」,共吸引530多间来自不同行业的企业及机构踊跃参与,较2016年上升一成,受惠员工人数更超过13万人,创歷年新高。行业的分佈亦更为广泛,包括银行、物业管理、零售、物流、运输、建筑及政府部门等。今日(8月21日),委员会联同香港电台第一台联合制作「香港无烟领先企业大奖2019」颁奖典礼特备节目,以表扬一众得奖企业,并于香港电台第一台及港台电视31之《精灵一点》节目内播出,亦首次以Facebook 直播形式进行,让更多市民分享得奖企业的杰出无烟政策及成果。

 

大奖旨在鼓励各行各业为吸烟僱员提供戒烟支援平台,并透过匯聚大小企业的力量,于社区内如齿轮般环环相扣,将无烟信息传递予更多员工、客户及社会大众,携手推动无烟香港。大奖同时获得逾80间来自不同行业的商会及组织全力支持,动员旗下会员参与,同时获多个戒烟服务机构协助,支援企业建立无烟工作环境及订定多元化的无烟政策。

 

参与特备节目嘉宾包括大奖荣誉贊助人食物及衞生局局长陈肇始教授、合办机构职业安全健康局总幹事游雯、「金奖」及「杰出无烟社区参与大奖」得奖公司中华电力有限公司人力资源总监林翠华及金门建筑有限公司人力资源董事庞燕妮,以及委员会主席邝祖盛。而歌手卢巧音以过来人身份,分享戒烟经验及勉励同路人要有决心远离烟草诱惑。

 

委员会主席邝祖盛指出,「企业实行无烟政策可以推动吸烟员工戒烟,提升工作效率,减低公司及社会的医疗开支,达致员工、公司及社会三赢局面。」委员会多年来推行针对吸烟率较高的行业而度身订造无烟推广活动成效显着,不少参与的企业均于今届大奖中脱颖而出,跃升为业界榜样。委员会今年亦会为物业管理行业推出宣传活动,以加犟业界宣扬无烟文化的角色。

 

大奖荣誉贊助人食物及衞生局局长陈肇始教授在节目中提及企业和机构支持无烟工作间是实现无烟香港的重要助力。企业愈来愈重视员工的健康生活模式,员工的无烟意识亦日趋普及,成果令人鼓舞。推广戒烟服务是政府整体控烟策略的重点之一,政府积极与各个伙伴紧密合作,提供不同类型的戒烟服务,同时亦着力研究如何提升吸烟人士戒烟的动力,令他们踏出戒烟第一步。

 

委员会自2011年起举办大奖,期望鼓励企业持续宣扬无烟文化,至今已经是第四届。经委员会、政府、业界及学术界的专业人士组成的独立评审团于2019年12月进行评审会议后,有两间持续推行无烟政策的企业获发「三年卓越金奖」;14间企业获颁「金奖」,其中两间企业在社区推广无烟文化的表现出众,同时夺得「杰出无烟社区参与大奖」;另有16间企业获颁「银奖」;以及逾490间企业获颁「优异奖」。

 

参与的企业採取多元化及软性的无烟措施,例如推出戒烟奖励计划、设计创意无烟插图及举办富趣味性的无烟教育活动等。同时,企业亦推动非吸烟员工及家人给予戒烟人士支持,营造鼓励戒烟的氛围。综合得奖企业的杰出政策,若然在推行过程中获得管理层的支持,身体力行之余,亦投入更多资源宣扬无烟信息,并主动与不同戒烟服务机构合作,自然会令无烟政策的成效事半功倍。

 

如欲了解「香港无烟领先企业大奖」活动详情,请浏览www.smokefreeleadingcompany.hk